Eastern Oregon University

Eastern Oregon UniversityEastern Oregon University is home in La Grande Oregon that provides a wide range of quality education for their students.  It’s one of seven state funded four year Universities. They offer a bachelor  and master decrees in the areas of business, arts & science and education.   They also offer decrees in nursing, military science, dental hygiene and agriculture science.

Eastern Oregon University has a strong athletic program that is supported through the Eastern Oregon University Athletic Foundation.    The University has been making numerous improvements to campus through updating their infrastructure which includes their Library, new Science building, updated Hoke Hall and a remodeled Quinn Coliseum.

Eastern Oregon University history:

Eastern Oregon University is located in the South part of La Grande which is in the Grande Ronde Valley between two mountain ranges, the Blue mountains and the Wallowa mountains.  It was established in 1929 and at that time was called Eastern Oregon Normal School.  The University’s main focus for education at the time was Education degrees for Teachers as there was a strong need in the Pacific Northwest.  The name of the college has changed several times over the years.  In 1939 the name was changed to Eastern Oregon College of Education to represent the main focus of the college.  The name changed again in 1973 to Eastern Oregon State College.  Eastern Oregon State College had the name for 24 years and then was changed in 1997 to it’s current name of Eastern Oregon University (EOU).

EOU Board

EOU was directed by the State Legislature to create an independent board of Trustees that would represent the area of Eastern Oregon.   The board has 15 members.